The place I fell in love with

“A river seems a magic thing. A magic, moving, living part of the very Earth itself.”
-Laura Gilpin

This is what crosses your mind when you witness the mighty Brahmaputra. Strong, serene and peaceful is what describes the river’s beauty.

ghty
The Brahmaputra River

Spending 17 years at a place makes you inherently love it. I fell in love with the clear sky, the uncertain weather patterns, the roads, the trees, the pleasing view of the NH-37 from sunset till nightfall, the sound of the raindrops falling on the roof and the breeze that flowed had an endless charm associated with it.There was something unusual and alluring about all the places that I have been to in Northeast. It’s not always about the lush green forests; the air that we breathed in used to be refreshing and different than that of the richer states.

I have heard a lot of people tell me that I missed all the outings to the overly expensive malls and restaurants while I spent my life there but the worldly pleasures fall short when you witness the unreal magnificence of the Nohkalikai Falls of Cherrapunji. That’s just one of the many attractions that Northeast used to have.

Although a lot of places, actually most of the Northeast is still unknown to me but the trips to Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya were memorable. Those narrow, curvy and broken roads that composed the journey from Guwahati to Panchgram had a tale of their own. I used to vomit a lot and at many points, it used to become so monotonous to look at the same scenes of tall trees and trucks around but it always left you with a feeling of enjoyment and gratification.

img_0113
Pic Credit: Me. Who else? Place: Panchgram

Kaziranga National Park and Pobitora Wildlife Sanctuary were somehow the best places that I visited because we had elephant rides there and saw the one-horned Rhino and innumerable migratory birds.

I wish I could say I saw a tiger but the tiger was too afraid to meet me, I guess.

I remember sitting in the playground of our school and staring at the highway throughout the games period. The ethereal splendor of NH-37 is beyond words; the over speeding cars overtaking each other were a delight to watch, a deep and inviting forest on the other side of the road and the calming rhythm of the roadway along with the flavorful breeze made everything more fascinating and loveable.

I believe that I am fortunate that I could spend a part of my life at a place where the nature had a story of endless magnificence that is beyond the scope of the polluted cities and crowded places.

Author: indifferentmusing

I believe love, laughter and a thought spared for peace can overcome all the differences in the world.

One thought on “The place I fell in love with”

Leave a Reply

